Directors Guild Nominations Focus on Veterans Like Jane Campion and Steven Spielberg

The Directors Guild of America announced its feature-film nominees on Thursday, recognizing Paul Thomas Anderson (“Licorice Pizza”), Kenneth Branagh (“Belfast”), Jane Campion (“The Power of the Dog”), Steven Spielberg (“West Side Story”) and Denis Villeneuve (“Dune”). Branagh is the category’s sole first-time nominee; the others have each been nominated by the guild before and Spielberg holds the record for most DGA wins with three.

All five of the nominated directors also saw their films recognized earlier Thursday by the Producers Guild of America, which suggests they comprise the upper tier of this Oscar season’s best-picture contenders. The Directors Guild’s nominees also tend to match four out of five when it comes to the Oscars’ best-director category. Last year, only DGA pick Aaron Sorkin (“The Trial of the Chicago 7”) fell out; he was replaced in the Oscar nominations by Thomas Vinterberg (“Another Round”). The year before, the Oscars went for Todd Phillips (“Joker”) instead of Taika Waititi (“Jojo Rabbit”).

Campion’s inclusion marks the first time in DGA history that women were nominated in back-to-back years: Last season, both Emerald Fennell (“Promising Young Woman”) and eventual winner Chloé Zhao (“Nomadland”) made the cut. And in the DGA category recognizing first-time filmmakers, four of the six nominees were women this year.

Here is a rundown of the nominees in the major film and television categories. For the complete list, including commercials, reality shows and children’s programming, go to


Paul Thomas Anderson, “Licorice Pizza”

Kenneth Branagh, “Belfast”

Jane Campion, “The Power of the Dog”

Steven Spielberg, “West Side Story”

Denis Villeneuve, “Dune”

First-Time Feature

Maggie Gyllenhaal, “The Lost Daughter”

Rebecca Hall, “Passing”

Tatiana Huezo, “Prayers for the Stolen”

Lin-Manuel Miranda, “Tick, Tick … Boom!”

Michael Sarnoski, “Pig”

Emma Seligman, “Shiva Baby”


“Ascension,” Jessica Kingdon

“Attica,” Stanley Nelson

Exterminate All the Brutes,” Raoul Peck

Summer of Soul,” Ahmir “Questlove” Thompson

The Rescue,” Elizabeth Chai Vasarhelyi and Jimmy Chin

Drama series

“Succession,” Kevin Bray (for the episode “Retired Janitors of Idaho”)

“Succession,” Mark Mylod (“All the Bells Say”)

“Succession,” Andrij Parekh (“What It Takes”)

“Succession,” Robert Pulcini and Shari Springer Berman (“Lion in the Meadow”)

“Succession,” Lorene Scafaria (“Too Much Birthday”)

Comedy series

“Hacks,” Lucia Aniello (“There Is No Line”)

“Ted Lasso,” MJ Delaney (“No Weddings and a Funeral”)

“Ted Lasso,” Erica Dunton (“Rainbow”)

“Ted Lasso,” Sam Jones (“Beard After Hours”)

“The White Lotus,” Mike White (“Mysterious Monkeys”)

Television Movies and Limited Series

“The Underground Railroad,” Barry Jenkins

“Dopesick,” Barry Levinson (“First Bottle”)

“Station Eleven,” Hiro Murai (“Wheel of Fire”)

“Dopesick,” Danny Strong (“The People vs. Purdue Pharma”)

“Mare of Easttown,” Craig Zobel

For all the latest Sports News Click Here 

Read original article here

Denial of responsibility! Technocharger is an automatic aggregator around the global media. All the content are available free on Internet. We have just arranged it in one platform for educational purpose only. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials on our website, please contact us by email – [email protected]. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Comments are closed.